Bring on the Cholula!

I like spicy flavors! You’ll have to forgive me; I have a tendency toward strong flavors. I know that others on the spectrum are disposed to milder flavors, but I am disposed to stronger ones. My particular taste is ultra spicy. I have had to forgo some of it in cooking because my mothers has GERD. She needs milder flavors. We, however, have figured out she can take a milder form. Whenever we see Rachael Ray cooking, I always try to see if I can take the flavor to a milder form for my mother, and add spice later in my own way. It hurts me to see my mother in near-physical pain when she watches the spicier foods made. I am not the type of person to bring harm on anyone or anything. I could even go vegan in the future for this – it makes me wonder if I should. I digress. I think it all relates to what foods we were raised on, and where. My mother used to be just as much of a spice eater as me. See, my mother was raised in Kentucky, Florida and southern California, in the 1950s and 1960s. My grandmother’s cooking was generally flavorful, and she had a lot of cultural influences. I also had a lot of cultural awakening, considering I was raised in Orange County, California, in the 1980s. Of course, in the 1980s, a mild taco was exotic food. Now you have to go all the way to Southeast Asia, the Middle East or a World Market to find something European Americans consider “exotic.” The world dining room is getting smaller-but slowly. In my opinion, the world table can’t get smaller fast enough. I’d like to taste durian; I heard it stinks, but it has also been called the King of Fruits. I’d like to try it just even once. I’m adventurous.

Leave a Reply

