My Day 3/15/2014

So, my mom and I were itching to go outside…maybe it was just me. The sun was shining, the day was warm, and it felt good just to walk. We decided to get in our car and go to downtown Lexington’s St. Patrick’s Day festivities this afternoon. We’re driving along, and we get to see some people in green and blue. Most of them were sitting in Irish bars, drinking green beer. I’m pretty down with most traditions, especially if it’s celebrating a certain group of people among us, but green beer is where I draw the line. How many real Irishmen drink green beer anyway? I guess very few, since it’s swill with green food coloring in it. I could make an Irish drink without the alcohol by putting green food coloring in my lime soda, if that’s all it took. I think real Irishmen are more likely to drink a Guinness. Now that’s how I’m sure you grab a pint in Ireland. Of course there are competing brands of beer, but they are all better than green beer. Of course the parade was over by the time we got there. I would have liked to see some of this, instead of drinking. I mean, unlike many others, I like to remember what I did on a certain holiday. If getting drunk was all you needed to do to celebrate a holiday, why not just get drunk at Christmas? There’s got to be more than just drinking alcohol until you black out to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. So, we decided to come home and have some Asian salad (generic enough name for ya?) with chicken. That was pretty good, anyway. I then decided to have a veggie burger and oven fries for dinner, which strangely tasted like chicken. I’m serious. Then I decided to bake brownies and cranberry orange bread. All in all, it was a good day.

Leave a Reply

