The Speck and the Plank

So we were watching church on the television, my mother and I. The topic is “Judgmental Christians.” You know, those who pass condemnation on others, often without looking to see if they can or cannot pass their own judgment. You know, this guy:

Apparently the holder of the phone was not letting him pass, or some other traffic violation. But did he actually need to threaten ramming, pass on the right, and flip the guy off, causing him to lose control and crash? It was not called “Righteous Judgment Call.” It was called “INSTANT KARMA” FOR A REASON!

We have all been that guy at one time or another. Even me.

It came to me while I was watching this, that I railed against people who hated autism and autistic people…like Autism Speaks…and I was doing it to myself since childhood. He said, to paraphrase, “Find out what is bugging you about that guy inside yourself. Then you can go and share what irks you about somebody else.” The Biblical passage the preacher was moving on was this:

“Do not judge, so that you may not be judged. For with the judgment you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get. Why do you see the speck in your neighbor’sa eye, but do not notice the log in your own eye? Or how can you say to your neighbor,b ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ while the log is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your neighbor’sc eye.“Do not judge, so that you may not be judged. For with the judgment you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get. Why do you see the speck in your neighbor’sa eye, but do not notice the log in your own eye? Or how can you say to your neighbor,b ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ while the log is in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your neighbor’sc eye. -Matthew 7:1-5

I was thinking about Autism Speaks, and how they want to cure autism. What if autism can’t be cured? Then what? Do they want to end autism by ending autistic people? Am I really better off dead because I have autism? This is basic eugenics. Just in case you don’t know, eugenics is breeding in desirable traits, and breeding out of undesirable traits, like Autism. I have recently begun to turn against Autism Speaks for their eugenic policies, and….

Back to the present day. I remember the time I was trying to explain how I got into acting to “get away from being myself.” Those were the exact words I gave to my mother. I had, at various times, wished I did not have autism, and wished I was not a “freak.” Was I any better than those at Autism Speaks? Was I not just as eugenic? I took this to my mother, and she said, “Why hate what God made?” That was a harsh reality for me. I needed to stop hating myself. Autism was not really an enemy; it is a condition. We can work with it. Is an natural disaster an enemy? Of course not. Autism, in the same way, is not an enemy. We can live with it. 

I’ll give you more on my self-forgiving journey soon…..

One thought on “The Speck and the Plank”

Leave a Reply

