Light it Up Gold, not Blue

http://www.forbes.com/sites/emilywillingham/2013/11/13/why-autism-speaks-doesnt-speak-for-me/

As I learned about the eugenics practices of Autism Speaks, the sillier and more hateful Autism Speaks became for me. I mean, if we cannot cure autism, will we cure the world of autistic people? Like the Nazis tried to cure the world of Jews?  Okay, maybe I’m going a little bit overboard, but the hatred seems to be there. I don’t need to be hated. Likewise, people with autism are often victims of their parents, often being abused and killed. One Autism Speaks video, “Autism Every Day,” a mother spoke of doing killing her, right in front of her child. So autism makes me such a burden, huh? So a child deserves to die, huh? How about stepping back and letting life be precious? Why don’t you remind yourself of Temple Grandin? Just about everyone in the Autism community knows about her if you ask. I even met Temple Grandin at a autism conference as a child. She was somewhat standoffish, but she is very smart. She had on a red western shirt at the time, and jeans. We spoke of life, a little, and just being with her, I felt alive. I felt like someone really understood me, how I felt on the inside. This is what I have come into lately; a group of people who really understand my struggles and what I’m going through. Their counter to Light it Up Blue is Light it Up Gold. We wear and light things gold around our house. This is the first year of doing so. We hope it continues on.

However, the one largest criticism of Autism Speaks is the fact that there are no known autistic people in the organization. Let me put it this way: If you want to fly, and you’re a bird, would you rather learn from a human or a bird? Let’s hear the argument:

So, who is more qualified to teach about flying? Think about it. Wouldn’t you rather learn about autism from those who have autism? That is my biggest pet peeve toward Autism Speaks. By contrast, NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illnes) boards are full of those with mental illness. I think we need to speak for ourselves.
 

Leave a Reply

