Autism: A Fate Worse Than Death?

Forgive me. I’ve been in a funk for the past two weeks. I guess it’s the people who act like autism is a fate worse than death (Yes, I’m talking to you, “Autism Speaks.”) They say it grabs all your parents’ attention, and it will break up parents’ marriages…. Why don’t you just say that autism is a fate worse than death? Am I better off dead, because I have it? Screw you,”Autism Speaks.” If I die, my mother and my dog are screwed as well. Do you understand that I am now physically the strongest member of my house? Do you know that I talk, cook and clean very well? I’m not even sure you have the word HOPE in your vocabulary, “Autism Speaks.” Even the most low-functioning autistic I know, Don Cameron Ramsey, talks as well now. Put that in your pipe and smoke it. Even the hardest case is not beyond reach, if you have hope. There is so much you doctors and so-called experts do not know. I hope you and all your children with autism rise and speak against you. That is what you deserve. I am speaking no more. It is because of the hopeless people inside “Autism Speaks” (I quote it because it doesn’t speak for me.) that I even have to say this to those who have just received a diagnosis:

Autism is not a fate worse than death. There is hope for even the most low-functioning case. I was once low-functioning, too.

One thought on “Autism: A Fate Worse Than Death?”

Leave a Reply

