Easy Targets

I apologize for not keeping to this blog. The truth is, I was depressed about being fat…and eating. I have regained four pounds by this…and I guess eating is my coping mechanism, like a drug. People have commented about my size online…and it’s not been nice. “Man the Harpoons” is an example of this.  It was given to me by a teenager who wanted to insult me. May he someday be the bullseye of an easy target. Honestly, I have enough self-hatred to pull me down into the depression and fat abyss. The only reason I think I was going to lose weight anyway was by pulling myself up by my own bootstraps, rejecting Hollywood and the media in general, and loving myself the way God has loved me. But I wonder, why is the world singling me out? Why am I the bullseye of such an easy target? Isn’t everyone the bullseye of an easy target in some way? I heard a quote from Will Smith: “Everyone is struggling.” I can point out the obvious ones: race, disability, gender, weight, but what about the less obvious ones? Let’s say, food allergies, “invisible” illnesses like autism, or financial trouble? I am getting sick and tired of people being discounted for this trait or that one. Everyone is important, even the sanitation workers. (Without them, we would be a lot sicker.) Of course, there is one trouble: everyone wanting to be “more” important than the next one. With that, we get the sick, blood-soaked, chaotic world we have today. So, I thought of this curse from the movie “Runaway Bride:”

“May you find yourselves the bullseye of an easy target; may you be publicly flogged for all your bad choices; & may your noses be rubbed in all of your mistakes.”

Of course, everyone is now the bullseye of an easy target. Just put them in the appropriate place and society. The Internet has made public flogging and nose-rubbing possible, but is that enough? How can we stop all the grief we get from the public shaming and discrimination? I’m looking for suggestions.

One thought on “Easy Targets”

Leave a Reply

