I Can Cook, Too!

So, I’m doing laundry today, and I decided to make some mole, just to try it. I mean, chocolate for dinner? What could be better? So I mixed up the paste and water, and heated it, and I got some- Oh, did I forget to tell you that I cook? Not just heating up microwave meals. (I mostly use the microwave for making single-serving tea for my mom.) I mean, actual chopping, baking and meals from scratch. I still need help doing major meals, like Thanksgiving and Christmas, but I do most of the cooking in my house. Somewhere it’s an unwritten law that autistics can’t cook-maybe it’s a part of that no taking care of themselves stereotype. So, what does that do with me? Does that mean I’m not autistic? Of course not. Maybe those unwritten lawmakers need to expand their minds a little. So many of us are learning to take care of themselves, and our caregivers, as we age. It’s not a big deal to me, taking care of myself and cooking. I also do laundry, clean and have a preference for the Shark vacuum, but I digress. There is quite a bit I do. Laundry is mostly waiting for the loads to get done, of course, but I also clean and make sure my dog is well fed and walked. (We have just cut out a bunch of mats. I guess it comes with the territory; he’s a Pomeranian.) I hope others with my condition can get to the point of self-reliance as well.

Leave a Reply

