#EffYourBeautyStandards

The current ruling demographic for female beauty is as skinny as possible. As in, “HOW DARE YOU TAKE UP SPACE!!!” skinny as possible. I don’t think that will change until starvation becomes the norm again, which is not any time soon. Those young, little models look like lilies, which is fine by me. Trouble is, I am clearly the round, robust shape of a rose. I am currently losing weight to reduce the strain it takes on my body, but I am just starting, as you can see. But I don’t hate myself, as I am evidently supposed to by our American media advertising. I know I am getting discriminated against. I haven’t had a relationship in three years. I don’t expect to have one unless I lose weight anyway, at least not a healthy one. But I’m not worried. I know this is coming soon. I just have a feeling. But in all honesty, I should not feel that I have to be a Lily in order to not fear getting beaten by my man. I should be able to think I can get treated well even as a Rose. I am tossing off this strange discrimination. I will be a good woman to whomever decides to take me on…and expect to do the same, Lily or Rose…(or Daisy. There are a lot of Daisies in the world too.)

Leave a Reply

