On Posthumous and Fictional Diagnoses

I just saw “The Imitation Game” and was quite impressed by it. My mother took me just to see Benedict Cumberbatch. Now now, I know what some of you are thinking: why like a mostly ableist actor? Because, he is simply misinformed. If BC were to open his mind to some of our blogs, he would have a completely different view of autism. I really believe it. We noticed his portrayal of Alan Turing was socially inept (I could relate); however, I am not quick to slap a diagnosis of autism on Alan Turing simply because I cannot properly diagnose the guy. I am actually not a fan of posthumous and fictional diagnoses of autism on people. How can you possibly be sure without some sort of living evidence? What if there were some other explanation that nobody actually considered? Of course Alan Turing was not “normal;” but who is normal these days? (My personal conclusion: nobody.) Don’t get me wrong: an autism diagnosis and its accompanying traits are actually better than people give them credit for. I am for a diagnosis, as long as it is a correct one. If we were to talk about Daryl Hannah being on the spectrum, that’s great.

Also, it is wise to consider that most autistic people are not like the Alan Turings and Temple Grandins of the world.  If Turing really were autistic, he would be as unique as each person with autism is from every other. Each person with autism, because autism has been so recently discovered, is being pushed into the semi-solitary position of autistic pioneer. My own specialty is spelling and punctuation. I cringe and laugh every single day when I go online. That is how often I see a misspelled word. However, a self-diagnosed friend of mine cannot spell that well. This is just an example of all these specific (and not too often encountered, remember that) specialties people think are so common. I do not really think autism is a mental handicap, because I rarely encounter a mentally challenged autistic, unless they have another mental challenge. This includes so-called low functioning autistics. (Fellow blogger Carly Fleischmann can attest to this.) We autistics have a saying: “If you’ve met one person with autism, you’ve met one person with autism.”

Truth I, I am not going to give autism to a person unless it can be actually proven. I think it’s better that way.

Leave a Reply

