Easter: Looking Back, Looking Forward

DSCN0001 DSCN0002 DSCN0003 DSCN0004 DSCN0006 DSCN0007 DSCN0008 DSCN0009 DSCN0010

Today was a walk down Memory Lane. We were in the store, shopping for my little nephew, my mother and I, and we saw such wonderful things. They reminded me of childhood. There were little Peeps-marshmallow chickies and bunnies in all sorts of colors. I remember when they were only in yellow, and only shaped like little chicks. Now they have Sour Watermelon Bunnies. (yech) Do you remember when you could get a little Easter dress, with white patent leather shoes, and socks with little lace accents, and sometimes a hat and purse…I also saw eggs, different styles of coloring them, and even pre-boiled eggs! I remember boiling eggs on my own, and just dying them different colors. We also saw various toys and games for Easter, too. Oh, and all the candy. Being on a weight loss plan is definitely tempting…one might say. Somehow, though, the only things that actually tempted me were the Cadbury Crème Eggs and Caramel Eggs. (Isn’t it a tragedy that Cadbury can’t come into the U.S. anymore? Boo on you, Hershey!) Somehow, the only things that tempted me were all the little stuffed animals. I don’t know why it’s not appropriate to have a stuffed animal on your bed after a certain age, but I would not judge you if you had one. Just today, an adult friend confessed to sleeping with a stuffed animal. It did not bother me one bit. (Of course, I have a live one in my bed, but he’s a good boy.) There’s so much to remember. I made the basket for my nephew with all of his favorite things: Cadbury Eggs, a milk-flavored bunny, M&M’s, a Reese’s peanut butter egg, jelly beans, and a marshmallow bunny. He’s going to love his basket. I forgot to tell you: he’s turning 24 right before Easter.

Leave a Reply

