#ImNoAngel

DSCN0213

Here we go again: the issue of weight and beauty coming into our midst, with the tag #ImNoAngel, dubbed by Victoria’s Secret. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE the idea. What troubles me is that it still has to be done in 2015. Come on, guys, it’s the 21st Century. The idea that you have to campaign for beauty to include you is so 1899. It is not what a 21st-Century woman needs to hear or be to find acceptance.

What I hate most about the weight and beauty issue is the idea that beauty is a dictatorship, yet another way to measure women, to see if they are “acceptable” or “passing.” It reminds me of the times that murderers are accused of having autism. It reminds me of the times that my hair is too flat, or my skin is too pale, or too dark…or of the time of segregation. Yeah, that’s what troubles me about beauty. It’s a sort of segregation against all the women that are not the beauty ideal. Now, I understand that segregation and discrimination has dogged members of nonwhite races for generations…but in this whole “you can never be too thin” mentality, I feel left out. I know I will never be the rail-thin body the Beauty Dictatorship wants. And in this, I am segregated out of the better parties, the good man’s dating circles, and life of the

And this idea that the women who are the rail-thin ideal are “angels,” like they are pure and innocent and unthinking of any wrong drives me up the wall. It does so in the fact that women are still only accepted if they follow the rules. And the rules are…

1) Men control the world.

2) Women must be the ideals that men want, as objects.

3) Women cannot come into the men’s club unless they are what the men want, as objects.

4) All other women sit at the back of the bus.

As a woman sitting at the back of the bus, I’m going to play the part of the woman rushing the front. #ImNoAngel is a campaign to get all women to sit at the front of the bus, like the thin and dictatorship beautiful types get to, unless they break the rules. (Like being their own person, for instance.) Some people think I might not be giving men the credit they’re due, but it is society’s rulers, who are mostly men, that are pushing me to the back of the bus. I am beautiful. I may not pass the dictatorship, but I am beautiful. You can see it in my eyes. Remember #EffYourBeautyStandards? This is the same thing. I am giving the finger to the Beauty Dictatorship. Beauty needs to be a democracy.

#ImNoAngel

Leave a Reply

