Autism Positivity 2015

Autism Positivity? That was a new one for me. Sometimes, I myself need to step back from the battles I fight and see what I have gained. Certainly, most people say I have gained nothing and lost everything because I am autistic. However, I can see some gains I have made. Here are a few:

1) Perspective: There is a beautiful world out there that other people cannot see. I wish I could explain it to you, but I experience things differently. This is a part of who I am. Also, when I reveal I am autistic, most people’s stereotypical viewpoints of autism are broken, and broken soundly as I continue to contribute to their experience. I like to break down walls wherever I go.

2) Compassion: I gain more and more of this as I see the world through the eyes of an outsider. These days, everyone can be an outsider, because of so much discrimination, but with autism, the world is especially unkind to me. I have trouble making friends, and keeping friends, so I will treasure anyone who stays around me. I treasure my mother for this very reason.

3) Knowledge: My special interests have helped me gain knowledge on a wide variety of subjects. Maybe because I am a girl I have had interests closer to neurotypical people, but I have always gained something from a Special Interest. Here are a few:

Rainbow Brite (but mostly Indigo): I have gained tolerance, love, and an appreciation of theater from this one.

Sailor Moon: This is where many of my stereotypes of female power have been broken.

Some Fairy Tales: I have learned to love books and research through this one.

4) Jerk Detection: I have learned who really loves me, and who is just there to exploit me, by how well they tolerate my stimming. For instance, my sisters, who robbed and exploited me for a money source, hated my stims. Those who really love me, however, can either tolerate them, or perhaps help me figure out why I am stimming.

So, being autistic, I can love myself in a way that is unique for me.

One thought on “Autism Positivity 2015”

Leave a Reply

