Drinking the World’s Kool Aid

I have been making myself absolutely miserable because I have been thinking I need a man. As in, I need someone to take care of me. Don’t get me wrong, people are shocked that I have autism because I have been taking care of myself and my mother for almost ten years. It’s just that, having someone to take care of me is not a necessity, because I am being taken care of already-by many sources.

There is an intersectional stereotype that a person with a disability and a woman both need to be taken care of, because they cannot take care of themselves. For many with autism, this is true-but not with me. I held down a job for six years out of sheer spite that people think I could not. I have run a house, cooked, cleaned, straightened out financially, and helped care for my mother. Granted, I may not have a job nowadays, but I can get one if I needed to. (Hopefully, that is coming.) The point is, I have done this without a man for nearly a decade. I certainly don’t need one now. Even with a disability, and even as a woman, I am holding things together. I am even taking care of myself as well.

I also have a source of love and care I believe in. For those of you who do not know, I accepted Jesus Christ as my savior as a child, and I still believe. I may not act it, but if I am to believe in an all-knowing, all-loving creator of the universe, won’t He love me? And if He loves me, won’t He take care of me? If my beliefs are correct, I have no need to fear anything.

If I don’t need anyone to take care of me, what is it worth to make myself miserable because I am not attached at the hip with someone? Nothing.

Leave a Reply

