Happy Anniversary AWE Project

I would like to join in and start an American branch of the AWE project. I am based in Kentucky, USA.

The Autistic Womens Empowerment Project

AWE MEET UP IMAGE

A year ago today The Autistic Womens Empowerment Project was officially launched at the Autism Show 2014.

We are a User Led project run by Autistic Women for Autistic Women .

As an Autistic woman myself and as the mother of Autistic children, I was aware of the challenges that myself and my children had but It wasn’t until I received my diagnosis of Autism after searching for answers for years that I gained full understanding of the difficulty’s many women and girls face in obtaining a diagnosis and the lack of post diagnosis services available

Following what I felt was not only poor treatment but also discrimination I became very passionate about the need for correct services for AS girls and women I had my counselling for trauma stopped abruptly because I had received an Autism diagnosis .I had continually asked for support for my challenges but continually hit…

View original post 1,316 more words

Leave a Reply

