The Marriage Penalty, AKA Why I Can’t Get Married

NOTE: This is a reaction blog. I have just learned about the issue. 

TRIGGER: Foul language used

I have always wanted to get married, have a kid or two, and maybe lead a quiet, loving life. But, thanks to the marriage penalty of losing money and services, this is not possible.

Let me back up. Marriage penalty is the loss and reduction of services when somebody gets married on disability or social security. My mother experienced this in her last marriage. She lost so much money, probably because people think it’s the husband’s job to “take care” of the wife financially. So, since we are talking about “taking care of” a person, like a child, I find this insulting. So, are you telling me that I have to rely on my husband, who needs a second income in order to keep afloat anyway, to “take care of” me, like I am a child? I can take care of myself, thank you very much. I use these services to keep a normal life. Are you telling me I have to avoid marriage, aka live in sin, in order to keep these services? That is what it sounds like to me. There are many poverty-stricken families living in sin in order to keep themselves going at an income level for assistance. People won’t hire the autistic, and no average man can afford an autistic bride without serious help in the financial sector, so I am shit out of luck, with being single my only option. I do not like it. I do not like this one bit. My mother tells me I cannot get married because of the marriage penalty. Why is this the case in America? The marriage penalty has effectively destroyed the low-income family unit. Why?

Leave a Reply

