From Messes to Miracles

As a Christian woman, I sometimes watch television shows or movies on TBN. Last night, the selection was “Joseph.” In a flashback, one of Joseph’s brothers slept with one of Jacob’s concubines. (Bilhah, who bore Jacob two sons, by the way. And EW!) After checking to see that is was Biblical history, I continued to watch and learned that another son went to a prostitute who was secretly a widow of two of his sons, and been refused the third. (Semitic culture gave a widow to the dead man’s brother, who would bear two children so as to continue the dead man’s line.) My mother pointed out the obvious: “This family is a mess!” But whose family is not a mess these days? Also, look what a great nation God made out of this family! There is a lesson to me given in this: God can take a mess like me and make it into a miracle. Messes are made into miracles every day. Look at me: a pattern of sleeping with different guys, getting my money taken away, very self-hating…and I am living pretty well nowadays. I have currently stopped sleeping with people-which I don’t need to do anyway-and I can handle money pretty well. I have learned self-worth and, as they put it: “not thinking less of yourself, but thinking of yourself less.” What mess are you trying to hide from God? He already knows of it. He can make a mess into a miracle, easily.

Leave a Reply

