Hold Your Comments, Save Your Heart

“The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body, sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.”                   -James 3:6

I recently got a sermon on James 3…the famous “tongue” chapter in the Bible.  We got a good smattering of “the tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body.” You can go read it yourself in any Bible. This got me with the usual yes, don’t gossip and keep your tongue in check. But God gave me another insight: Any comments section on the internet is made up of nothing but people’s tongues, wagging and insulting in all their fury. Have you noticed how unnecessarily negative any comments section is? How quickly it turns to something like drugs or destruction? Often in the first three comments, and sometimes even in the first comment, people turn to negative or ugly things. The best example of this would have to be Facebook, because Facebook almost feels like Hatebook sometimes. Maybe I’m just ranting and letting my own tongue loose, but even I have had to delete and regret a few comments myself. Just so you know, it’s not that I don’t want comments and critiques, it’s that I want your comments that disagree with me to be done kindly, and factually. I appreciate comments…just make sure you are doing them kindly. It helps get your message across much more effectively.

I came to this conclusion of writing my thoughts out on comments because I wanted to share my insights with all of you-whoever you are. We have enough tongue wagging and barb-flinging in this world. I have severely limited my time reading comments because of this. I have often not read them altogether-to save my sanity. I mean, what’s the point of putting death threats to somebody online? It only reveals that you have evil in your heart you need to get rid of. We’ll expand on this more later.

Leave a Reply

