Hey, Look Over Here! I’m a Usable Resource!

I just saw a news interview from my local Autism Society (of the Bluegrass) for their Autism Walk. I’m not involved with the Autism Society as much as my mother used to be…but I believe their hearts are in the right place. My mother and I did not have a good initial meeting with them, but I would like to be more involved, because I realize they have the best of intentions for people like me. Here is why:

  1. When the newscaster said “eradicate” autism, it was not further discussed. That is a viewpoint I respect.
  2. The leaders involved seem to push supports and involvement in society.
  3. They mentioned there is still very little true information out there on autism, since autism is still very unknown (except by us autistic adults and children).
  4. They did not mention the debates on causes.
I may be just some autistic adult, but I think I can give them insider information as a resource usually not exploited, which is the autistic adult. Granted, I do not have a psychology degree, but that hopefully will soon be remedied. What I have, however, is a voice and a life which has been affected, negatively AND positively by autism. Why don’t the psychologists and parents ask us autistic people what we are thinking, instead of trying to guess? We have the insight you guys are looking for, and most of us are verbal, and will tell you. This begs the question, how will you find us? Don’t worry; many of us will tell you about our autism when it becomes relevant.
Ask me anything about autism. Chances are, I know a few things.
Leave a Reply

