Getting Right With God

keep-calm-it-is-time-to-get-right-with-godSometimes one has to wonder whether their blog is more positive or more negative. Strangely, people tend to remember the more negative posts – the rant-filled ones about social injustices. Being a woman hailing from Kentucky with weight issues and autism, plus an ally to other causes, one tends to see a lot to rant about. Trouble is, it can wear on your well-being. I’m not always raging –  far from it. When I see an injustice, I will call it out. With that in mind, my life has been just peachy lately. I owe it all to getting right with God this year.

I have been blessed before – with a lovely apartment that has washer and dryer hookups, furniture, decorations, clothes, plenty of food and even a little dog – but the blessings have been coming back this particular year with increasing frequency.

It started with a goal of reading the Bible daily. It was not easy, and at times it still feels like a long time. The truth is, in spite of my wants, the Bible has become an interesting love letter from God to his people. As an account of the people of God, I am in my Old Testament history section. Eventually (spoiler alert!) Jesus will come on the scene and complete the covenant. I have bragged about going through the Bible ten times, but I remember very little unless it’s one of my favorite sections, unfortunately. I can’t exactly brag about my love for God, but I can certainly brag about God’s love for me. The Bible will certainly help in the process, because it is the word of God. Besides, if God can relentlessly pursue a nation that squanders itself on various neighboring gods and spirits, thereby being adulterous in that matter, how much more will He pursue someone faithful? And, is not everyone the nation of Israel at various times in their life? Putting their faith in different gods, like money, fame, romance and guns? I myself am guilty of this, too. It is not essential to read the Bible to be saved, but just so you know, don’t you want to know what or who exactly you’re putting your faith in?

I’m working on prayer at this time. Listing my needs and wants, getting the courage to ask, and then letting it go – that is my current battle. We recently saw the movie “War Room,” which is about the right way to fight – and who you’re fighting against. HINT: It’s not the people who are aggravating you in your life. It’s the devil who seeks to separate and isolate you from your family, friends and joy – not the people. Please, pray for me as I learn to pray in my life.

We are approaching our one-year anniversary at our current church. It is a small, old-fashioned type of church, independent of any association. We are looking for a pastor right now, but we’re praying that God brings us the right man for the job. Fortunately, I believe that will happen soon. We have enjoyed loving, caring fellowship in our church, and hope to keep doing that in the future.

Please keep my mother and me in your prayers as we continue to grow in faith and love.

Leave a Reply

