Am I Going to Age Alone?

*TRIGGER WARNING: This is a reaction blog tied to the early death study from Sweden. Its source is linked to below.

Source: Large Swedish Study Ties Autism to Early Death

Only in the past 24 hours have the results of a large Swedish study been reported by major news sources. I am just as flabbergasted as many others to learn that it will only take until July 17, 2017 (less than two years away) for me to outlive many of my autistic peers. In case you are wondering, yes, that is my birthday. My 40th birthday, to be exact. It is a frightening statistic, to learn that when a learning disability is paired with autism, the average age of death is 39. Yes, 39. I turn 39 this year. I also have ADHD, which scares me too. (Does this mean I will outlive most of my peers?) If there was no concurring learning disability, the average age of death was 58, still very short from the average death age in the 70s. It scares me that I could soon be alone in this world, because I am aging faster and faster with time…and people like me are dying young. It’s not likely that I will die this year or the next by my own doing, since I am working to improve my overall health, mental and physical. Trouble is, I am allegedly going to be a rare case. You can read the article yourself…

I don’t know why it took so long to sound the alarm on early deaths and autism. Yes, there is a proven link. The study was published on December 11, 2015. Today is March 18, 2016. Four months is a really long time to wait to sound an alarm. Well, I guess we need to remind everyone that Autistic Lives Matter? Do we need to stage protests to get our message across? Nothing seems to work otherwise, and now we are dying young.

What will it take for the neurotypical to care?

Leave a Reply

