What if you just don’t care what people think?

Maybe it’s an age thing, but my mother stopped caring what people think-how they dismiss her according to stereotypes presented by Hollywood. I mean, I could explain how a workplace injury caused nerve damage making it difficult for her to walk, but all people see is her weight, and people want to make her walk. So, she just stopped caring what people think. I’m almost to that stage, I hope, because my fearing peoples’ opinions meter is just about wiped out. I know they judge me and rarely talk to me, even in church, when I reveal my autism to them. I’m tired of all this caring and giving, only to get nothing in return. People assume that because I’m autistic, I don’t want to talk to them. They could not be more wrong. I crave interaction with people; I just don’t know when to jump in. I’ve decided to just stop caring, because people do not care that I am starved for social interaction. So, I don’t care what people think. I’m going to have to turn to God for my love, affection and interaction.  

Leave a Reply

