Celebrity, Part 2

Now, don’t get me wrong: I don’t absolutely despise celebrity; I believe it can be a force for good. What I despise is the absolute humiliation that people will subject themselves to for it.  I am talking about the crazy things spewed by celebrities, especially reality stars, in order to achieve fame in and of itself, as if fame is the ultimate goal of life. I believe fame is a pleasant side effect of the tenets of success; it’s a demonstration of love and acceptance among most people.

What I really despise is the dark side of fame: the shaming, the constant need to be your public persona all the time, and the eventual public shaming that comes with showing any weakness or vulnerability at all. I mean, even celebrities are publicly shamed for being vulnerable; how much more so the rest of us. That constant need to be on guard all the time is tiring. Plus, if you have some catchphrase or punchline you come up with, like “Git-R-Done” for example, everyone will want that from you, since it becomes familiar.

So what if I become a celebrity: it’s not likely that I will, though. I am only writing a book about growing up to help those like me and my family, not trying to become famous.

Leave a Reply

