Why I am So Vocal About Civil Rights

Why I Am So Vocal About Civil Rights

I went on one of those “Word Cloud” meme sites, just to see what my “word cloud” looked like. Sure, there was a giant “retweeted” in there, but there were lots of much more interesting words in there to look at. For instance, “black,” “white,” “rights,” and “#AllLivesDidntMatter” were among them. I found that to be very interesting, considering I am clearly a white person. What I realized, however, is that the “Black Lives Matter” movement got my attention, and my voice. As I have said before, equitable treatment under the law and by its enforcers is all the movement wants. And isn’t that an inalienable right?

I have many reasons to feel this way. I have friends, especially Facebook friends, of all colors, shapes and sizes, political beliefs, etc. I grew up in southern California, where diversity was an everyday occurrence. (Orange County, to be exact, before it got too expensive for most people.) Sure, there were hiccups along the way, but I was taught by my parents to give everyone a chance to impress you, no matter what. I am also autistic, and by this categorized disability have faced discrimination. Sure, I could sit around and whine about how hard it is to be an autistic person. It’s certainly no walk in the park, but the reason I get so vocal about civil rights, especially of people who do not look like me, is much more simple: I am an egalitarian. Here’s the definition from Oxford Dictionary:

e·gal·i·tar·i·an

[iˌɡaləˈterēən]

ADJECTIVE

  1. of, relating to, or believing in the principle that all people are equal and deserve equal rights and opportunities:
  1. “a fairer, more egalitarian society”

NOUN

  1. a person who advocates or supports egalitarian principles.

 

Just in case you were wondering.

Perhaps I speak about racial equality too much these days, but it has come up as a major issue. There has been race baiting to push both liberal and conservative agendas. Both sides have been screaming themselves hoarse to make sure they can be heard, but is there any real listening? Have we progressed as a nation at all?

Perhaps I am just reacting to potential blowback concerning my little Quickshot on not calling the police on kids hanging out. Are they just hanging out, or are they actively talking about or doing something illegal/immoral? My mother once called the police on a huge crowd of youths in our yard when I was a child, but they were actively fighting. (By the way, I did not see anyone very dark skinned that day, especially in that crowd, if you were wondering.) The point is, I know the haters are out there. Maybe I should not be so scared.

Leave a Reply

