Now Playing At Applebee’s: Dinner Music for the Not Very Hungry 

Sometimes, I like to veer off into more lighthearted things. We all need a good laugh every now and then.

There was a funny story involving the music at Applebee’s today. (They have good French Onion Soup, so there.) I tend to run toward rock and roll, but the music somehow made me laugh. I mean, you usually tend to get music toward the calm and soothing, right? The thing is, the song  ensemble went like this: It started with “Freebird” by Lynyrd Skynyrd, with its crazy guitar solo at the end. It then went to “Rock and Roll” by Led Zeppelin. It then went to Van Halen. Of course there were a couple of songs in between. It just seemed out of place in a fairly basic restaurant that basically wants to be a steakhouse. I blame the waitstaff. I thought it coincided because the woman who served me seemed in her fifties, which would have put her teenage years in about the 1970s, or the era of the music being played. Maybe it was the fact that I was in the company of my mother, who prefers more gentle music to soothe herself, but I thought it was rather funny to eat soup and salad with Led Zeppelin in the background.

Leave a Reply

