The Saga of Dr. Latham, As Related to Autism – Chicago Med 

As of last week, I discovered a character that was admittedly autistic. His name is Dr. Isidore Latham. He seems to have a good amount of the traits of autism – difficulty with reading emotions, struggles with change in routine, social awkwardness. I’m sure there is more to come. I’m sure there are blogs and posts specifically designed to pick apart the characters and inaccuracies, so I do not intend to do that. What I wish to do is support the character. As I have said in a previous post, the fact that he is played by Ato Essandoh and, as I have learned, is Jewish as well, is a step forward in portrayals. Previously, they have usually been, intentionally or not, portrayed by white men who go by the dominant religious affiliation of the series. I would applaud the trend of varying portrayals of autistics. I am watching Chicago Med for its treatment of Dr. Latham’s treatment concerning autism. He is an adulthood diagnosed who struggles with it. I am watching because it seems like a good portrayal. I do not want to be disappointed. The big thing is, I want a performance that is not stereotypical. I mean, early portrayals of autism have been extremely narrow and stereotypical, as dictated by Raymond “Rain Man” from the famous movie. I guess what I want is the portrayal to be accurate…and, maybe, another autistic can come into the show to display how it is on a spectrum – how it varies. Hopefully, this is not more than the Chicago Med people can give.

Leave a Reply

