Blogging Against Disablism: My Experience With Disablism

What is my experience with Disablism? First, let me get this straight: Disablism is another word for Ableism. It’s judging a person as “less” because they’ve got some perceived disability for getting along in this world. Let’s keep that in mind.

So I’ve decided to simply relate my experience with Disablism. Let’s start with when Ableism really hit me in the gut: In college, I decided to reveal to my psychology professor that I was autistic, and could be used as a resource. She simply went, “Awwww!” As in, she felt super sorry for me. I told her I was a resource for autism and autistic therapies, if she wanted to use me! She avoided me for the rest of the semester. Not cool, lady. She judged me as less simply because I revealed to her I was autistic. I wonder what she would have said were I in a wheelchair?

Then, there was another incident in which I was judged as being “less.” At the Autism Society of the Bluegrass, they were discussing their autistic kids, and I wanted to join in and give them some insight, and, dare I say it, some hope that their kids would turn out fine if given the right tools. They asked me, “How old is your kid?” I simply told them, “I AM the kid.” They seemed shocked and dismayed. Here is my question for the ASB” Why don’t you unclude autistic adults in your conversations about your children? Do you want your children to be ignored and discounted the same way? Because that is what you are telling the world to do. It’s as if you’re literally saying, “Ignore my moronic child. They are not worth talking to about their own lives.” I am still on their email list, but I am considering leaving the list altogether. I do not like to be discounted.

One thought on “Blogging Against Disablism: My Experience With Disablism”

  1. Amen sister! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ. So glad you had the courage to reveal your status πŸ’žπŸ’ž. You know what I think? I think that the stereotypes are all many of these people know, and you were probably the first one to bust the stereotype, so they might have been taken aback a little. But as they encounter more people like us, they’ll soon realize that we’re “real people, too” (tongue-in-cheek) and they’ll start responding differently. I’m sorry that you got treated the way you did. Not cool at all (!). But maybe just maybe, you’re the first in line, a trendsetter if you will. At least, that’s my hope πŸ’“πŸ’“

Leave a Reply

